top of page

1st Grad Student Wedding at BRB!

February 2, 1991

I met my future wife Emily at a Cornell Vet Student party hosted by some vet students I met at an original Henry happy hour in what is now the Johnson Business School building. I noticed Emily’s legs when they entered the party but we missed meeting until the end of the party …

Fast forward 18 months …

One Saturday evening when Emily was working late at the Vet school, as was typical, and I was at my apartment watching “Doc Hollywood” the winsome singing of Patsy Cline inspired me to propose to Emily. With primitive tools, a coat hanger, a pencil eraser, and a thumb-tack, I fashioned an engagement ring and proposed around midnight.

Fast forward 6 months … January 23, 1993

The Big Red Barn in January was decorated with pine boughs, hundreds of hand-made white paper roses, and hundreds of candles. It is amazing the Big Red Barn survived its first wedding. We had a 15 minute ceremony in front of the fireplace, liquor on the way to the receiving line, live music by the Low-Down Alligator Jazz Band, food by Cornell catering, and a great time was had by all.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page